In stock
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
Pala CD
Pre-orders include posterLP contains MP3 download voucherFriendly Fires are Ed Macfarlane (vocals, synths, bass), Edd Gibson (guitar) and Jack Savidge (drums). Hailing from St Albans where the trio met as teenagers, Friendly Fires’ intuitive grasp of kinetic art funk, electronic euphoria and stadium-sized anthems has led to them becoming one of the most exciting and critically feted new bands of the past few years. Their self-titled debut album was released in 2008 on XL Recordings (home of The xx, Vampire Weekend and Sigur Ros among others) and was a slow burning success. Singles like Paris, Jump In The Pool, Skeleton Boy and Kiss Of Life were heralded as some of the best pop tracks of the year. An amazing eighteen months for the band was rounded off with two Brit Award nominations and a Mercury Music Prize nomination Friendly Fires draw their inspiration as much from the electronic music world as the guitar one, sharing a love of the likes of Liquid Liquid, My Bloody Valentine and the German techno label Kompakt Records. Since the release of Friendly Fires, they’ve further explored their electronic side.
St Albans trio Friendly Fires are delighted to announce the release of their second album ‘Pala’. Named after the island in Aldous Huxley’s 1962 novel ‘Island’, ‘Pala’ has been produced by a mixture of Friendly Fires themselves and Paul Epworth. The album was recorded over the past twelve months in various locations including London, St. Albans, Rye in Sussex, Yvetot in France, and New York It’s set to build on the success of Friendly Fires’ eponymous debut album that was released in September 2008 and went on to sell over 200,000 copies in the UK, picking up a Mercury Prize nomination and two Brit Awards nominations along the way. The artwork for ‘Pala’ features a beautiful parrot photograph from one of famed fashion photographer Sølve Sundsbø’s personal projects, while the album also sees musical collaborations with The Harlem Gospel Choir (on ‘Hurting’) and Holy Ghost’s Alex Frankel (who plays Clavinet on ‘True Love’) ‘Pala’ tracklist: 1. Live Those Days Tonight 2. Blue Cassette 3. Running Away 4. Hawaiian Air 5. Hurting 6. Pala 7. Show Me Lights 8. True Love 9. Pull Me back to Earth 10. Chimes 11. Helpless